Val Vallis Awards

Named in honour of a distinguished Queensland poet, the Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award is committed to encouraging poets throughout Australia. Now in it’s 15th year, this prestigious prize for an unpublished poem (or suite of poems) of 100 lines or less comes with a total prize value of $4,000.

1st Prize: $1,000 + 1 week @ Varuna + publication in Cordite Poetry Review
2nd Prize: $500 | 3rd Prize: $250
Entry fee: $20
Submission deadline: by 5pm, Thursday 10 July 201

Download guidelines & submission forms: ValVallisAward-EntryForm

2014 Selection panel: Kent MacCarter, Sarah Holland-Batt, Judith Beveridge

Previous winners: Brett Dionysius, Chloe Wilson, Rachael Briggs, Nathan Shepherdson, Rebecca Edwards, Bronwyn Lea, Michelle Cahill, Anna Krien, Jaya Savige, Ynes Sanz,

The winners of the Arts Queensland Val Vallis Poetry Award will be announced at the opening of the Queensland Poetry Festival, 29 August 2014 at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts. QPF has the pleasure of administrating the Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize on behalf of the Queensland Government, with partners Varuna Writers House and Cordite Poetry Review.


If you have any queries regarding this award please contact Queensland Poetry Festival in 07 3842 9990 during office hours or email anytime.

About Author

Queensland Poetry Festival

Queensland Poetry Festival


  1. 🕔 21:33, 06.Feb 2014


    im iranian .can i send my poems for festival?

    reply comment
    • 🕔 11:14, 17.Mar 2014

      Queensland Poetry Festival Author

      Hi there – applications for the 2014 festival are closed, but if you sign up to the QPF e-newsletter via the website, we’ll keep you updated so that you can apply for the 2015 festival.

      reply comment
  2. 🕔 14:30, 23.Apr 2015

    Buy Nike Free Runing 4.0 V2 Purple Blue

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with your site. It appears as though some of the text within your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Appreciate it

    reply comment

Write a Comment 

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *